Myanmar, Union of

Capital: NaypyidawArea: 676.578 km2Population: 51.400.000Official Language: BurmeseArmed Forces Personnel: 428.000Medical Officers: n/aMilitary Hospitals / Institutes: 10/n/aMissions: n/a

Surgeon General
Prof Dr Soe Win
Major General

Directorate of Medical Services
Nay Pyi Taw

The Myanmar Army Medical Corps (MAMC) is a specialist corps in the Myanmar Army which provides medical services to all Myanmar Army personnel and their families in war and in peace. The Myanmar Army Medical Corps forms the Myanmar Armed Forces (Tatmadaw)’s essential military medical services under the command of Directorate of Medical Services (DMS). 

Directorate of Medical Services commands the Medical Corps of Myanmar Army. DMS also commands some military academies jointly with other directorates.

Medical Corps Centre, which located in Hmawbi township is responsible for Training and Research. 14 Field Medical Battalions are deployed in strategic locations throughout the country. Each Field Medical Battalion consist of 3 Field Medical Companies & 3 Field Hospital Units and a specialist team. Health & Disease Control Unit (HDCU) is responsible for prevention, control & eradication of diseases. 

At the time of independence in 1948, the medical corps has two Base Military Hospitals, each with 300 beds, in Mingaladon and Pyin Oo Lwin, a Medical Store Depot in Yangon, a Dental Unit and six Camp Reception Stations located in Myitkyina, Sittwe, Taungoo, Pyinmana, Bago and Meikhtila. Between 1958 and 1962, the medical corps was restructred and all Camp Reception Stations were reorganised into Medical Battalions.

In 1990s, Directorate of Medical Services has significantly expanded along with the infantry. 

In 2007, there are two 1,000 bedded Defence Services General Hospitals (Mingaladon and Naypyitaw), two 700 bedded Military Hospitals in Pyin Oo Lwin and Aung Ban, two 500 bedded military hospitals in Meikhtila and Yangon, one 500 bedded Defence Services Orthopedic Hospital in Mingaladon, two 300 bedded Defence Services Obstetric, Gynecological and Children hospital (Mingaladon and Naypyitaw), one 300 bedded Rehabilitation Hospital (Mingaladon), one 300 bedded Defence Services Liver Hospital (Mingaladon), three 300 bedded Military Hospital (Myitkyina, Ann and Kengtung), twenty 100 bedded Military Hospitals (Mongphyet, Hpa-an, Indaing, Bahtoo,Myeik, Pyay, Loikaw, Namsam, Lashio, Kalay, Mongsat, Dawai, Kawthaung, Laukai, Thandaung, Magway, Sittwe, Hommalin, Bokpyin and Thabeikkyin), one 25 bedded Military Hospital (Warzi), fourteen field medical battalions, which are attached to various Regional Military Commands throughout the country. 

Each Field Medical Battalion consist of a specialist team, 3 Field Medical Companies with 3 Field Hospital Units (each with 80 beds). 

Each Field Medical Company consist of 5 Mobile Medical Platoons. Health & Disease Control Unit (HDCU), located in Mingaladon, is responsible for prevention, control & eradication of diseases. 

Medical Depot located in Yangon and Forward Medical Depot located in Mandalay.

Section Defence Forces Dental Services

Shanghai, China


SDFDS is the Section Defence Forces Dental Services from the FDI. Every year prior to the FDI annual congress we organize an annual meeting. This meeting contains of a cultural day and a scientific program of 2 days, in which international military dentists share their experiences, challenges and latest developments.

The next meeting will be from 29 AUG-1SEPT in Shanghai, China


05/11/2020 - 05/15/2020
09/01/2020 - 09/04/2020
FDI World Dental Congress 2020
Show all